From time to time the Society awards a Gold Medal for distinguished services to bibliography to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the development of the subject and the furtherance of the Society’s aims. Forty-three awards have been made since the Medal Fund was established in 1929; recipients since 1990 have been Robin Alston, Nicolas Barker, Peter Davison, Ian Doyle, Bernhard Fabian, Mirjam Foot, Lotte Hellinga, Don McKenzie, David McKitterick, Henri-Jean Martin, Paul Needham, Dennis Rhodes, G. Thomas Tanselle and Andrew Watson. A full list of all Medallists will be found on the Society's website at
A Gold Medal sub-committee will be convened in Spring 2017 to consider nominations and make recommendations to Council for the next award of a Medal or Medals. All members of the Society are invited to submit nominations, which should be accompanied by a brief but detailed supporting text outlining the achievements of the person being nominated and a short bibliography of his or her principal publications. No more than three names may be submitted by any one individual. Nominations and supporting text should be sent to:
Karen Limper-Herz, Hon. Secretary, The Bibliographical Society, c/o Institute of English Studies, Room 260, Senate House, Malet Street, London WC1E 7HU, or, to reach her not later than 30 April 2017.