Major Grants awarded 2018/19

The following major awards were made by the Bibliographical Society for the current year (2018-9) at the meeting of the Council of the Society on 19th February 2019.

Major Grants:

£2,000 to Dr Geoff Kemp:  Thomas Bassett (c. 1634-1699): Stationer at Pynson’s George, Master of Tonson, First Publisher of Locke’s Essay (Antiquarian Booksellers’ Association Award)

£2,000 as a major grant and the Fredson Bowers award of US$1,500 to Matthew Payne: The Books of Robert Fabyan (c. 1450-1513)

£1,000 to Dr Rose Roberto: How Four 19th Century English Language Encyclopaedias Democratised Scientific, Medical and Technical Knowledge (Barry Bloomfield Award)

£739.45 to Dr Dunstan Roberts: The Library and Papers of Lord Herbert of Cherbury (1582-1648)

£2,000 to Dr Elizabeth Deans Romariz: Early Modern British Architectural Albums (Falconer Madan Award)

£1,925 to Dr Sarah Wootton: John Keats and Glasgow Style Book Arts

The Katherine J Pantzer Jr. Research Fellowship and Scholarship were not awarded this year.