Major Grants for 2007-2008

The Society is pleased to announce that, as a result of the fifteenth competition for the research grants set up with funds received towards its centenary appeal, the following awards have been made:

  • £3,854 to Ian Gadd: The Stationers’ Company and the Universities, 1580s-1780s (the Katharine F. Pantzer Jr Research Fellowship)
  • £2,000 to Catherine Parisian: The publication history of Frances Burney (the Katharine F. Pantzer Jr Research Scholarship)
  • £2,000 to Grace Ioppolo: Early modern dramatic manuscripts and theatre history records (the Fredson Bowers award)
  • £500 to Peter Kidd: Catalogue of manuscripts in Queen’s College, Oxford (the Falconer Madan prize)
  • £1,125 to Samantha Matthews: Albums and album poetry in nineteenth-century Britain (the Barry Bloomfield award)
  • £1,600 to David Finkelstein: Edinburgh Typographical Association membership, 1861-1900 (the Antiquarian Booksellers Association award)
  • £500 to Joseph Gwara: Woodcut initials in sixteenth-century English books
  • £1,280 to Niall MacKenzie: The libraries of early modern English nuns
  • £1,350 to Andrew Nash: Grub Street authors and the fiction market, 1870-1914
  • £1,934 to Mark Towsey: Reading habits in Britain , c.1750-c.1850
  • £721 to Alison Welsby: Greek codices in the Gospel of John